With Michael at Kisima Village

 

20thJune: I had a second breakfast with Paige and Kerry, it was good to see them again and catch up and in doing so we got to Michael’s community a little later than anticipated. Michael greeted us with his beaming smile and showed me my room and around his humble abode and then to his latest project, the guest house he started five years ago just because he knew it would be used someday, by whom he had no idea.

Michael's Guest House

Michael’s Guest House

What a good, solid house, just bare walls, doors, glassless windows and a roof, but so well thought out and of course filled with cut hay keeping dry, how could anyone leave all that space empty, certainly not Michael. His next task was to have it wired for solar before being rendered and I think K&P have that in hand. He proudly showed me the land around the house and the trees that had been planted, he certainly has been busy.

K&P left for their hotel, Michael and I made up the beds, (he had all his bedding washed and hanging out to dry as we arrived) and then headed out into the moon lit night for a short bush walk. It was so refreshing to be able to walk out at night, something I had missed doing as everywhere else I had stayed there were either wild animals about or wild people who wished you harm in one way or another (or so I was told), although Michael had said there were Hyena’s about.

We ended up at a hut with an outside fire going with a pot bubbling away on it; we were at the home of Francis and Mica, two of Michael’s workers who helped with the farm. I watched as they cooked Ugali, a dough made from maize floor and a staple food for the majority of the population, I even had a mix.  We were invited in to sit on the lounge suite around the small table (coffee type) and join them for a meal of the Ugali and greens that were found growing wild. A kerosene lamp burned providing light for the sparsely furnished room and to see our meal, the Ugali was a little heavy for me, especially for a late meal, but it went down well with the greens.  Michael had his cup of tea, with that said our good nights and headed of home to bed.

We both up early and Michael went to see his cattle I tucked into some fruit. Ester, Michael’s sister arrived with a container of water and pointed at me, I thanked her after trying to say good morning and how are you, she smiled and replied in Maasai and went on her way. I went for a walk for half an hour and when Michael came back he said the water, which was hot, was for me to bathe with, wow I am being spoiled, so I took advantage of the situation and used the water. After some more breakfast we went out to see the ladies from surrounding homes digging holes to plant the remainder of the tree’s that were left in pots.

We chatted about things, Permaculture wise and visited the paddocks that had been planted with grass for hay, maize and beans. It is amazing what Michael has achieved in just over a year, considering this land when he moved here five years ago was tree less and overgrazed. His first move was to allow the shrubs to regrow, then to fence of small paddocks to conserve the land and rotate the grazing around them. I took many pictures as I want to show Justus what can be achieved, although the soil is in a much better condition up here for the growing of crops, but with love, patience and some serious giving back to the land without demand or expectation of an outcome and God is there if we ask, so miracles are possible.

Denis

God is Good

Leave a Reply

